My experience of building the SharkTanks

SharkTanks is a 3D online multiplayer tank game in a website that we built using NodeJs, ExpressJs, Socketio and ThreeJs.

Over the past few weeks, I was really amazed by the things that ThreeJs provides in order to make the web experience amazing and in order to learn more about it I just built a simple local multiplayer wrestling game i.e. wrestle-with-shapes, and then one weekend I and my friends/teammates were trying to play games on discord but most of the games were there only for the nitro users so than I got the idea what if instead of making a local multiplayer game I make an online multiplayer game which I can play with them together, and those games which were free, they required us to download apps of more than 2gbs and that's how we got inspired to build this game.

Now comes the important part i.e. researching and finalizing the tech stacks, so since I was playing around with ThreeJs a lot so we used it for the gameplay, 3D models and in order to make it online multiplayer we were supposed to add communication between the server and clients so we had 2 options i.e. using Socketio or firebase since they work on TCP protocol which helps for the server and client to communicate in real-time but since I had experience with Socketio so we chose that with NodeJs and ExpressJS for the server.

Now that we had the stack we were looking to make it at a hackathon and that's when we got to know that University of Alberta was organizing a hackathon i.e. HackEd, so we participated in it and I got 3 of my university friends too to participate with me so that they can be introduced to hackathons and they were all pumped up! once the opening ceremony was done we started working on our game and we just had 24 hrs so we had to pull allnighter to make it work and get the mvp, since the others were beginners so they helped me with documentation, hosting, a landing page which was really one of the most important parts of the game and I was amazed at the speed that they were learning all these with and after 24 hrs of no sleep and planning of a week we created the mvp of our game i.e. SharkTanks.

Unfortunately, we were not able to win it but that didn't stop us from improving it and adding new features, after losing the hack we were still very excited to make it better and we took another week and worked on more features like stats, who joined the game, who died, score points of users and than after adding google analytics we started sharing it and within 3 days we got 300 users! we got some amazing feedback that we worked on and still there are some that we are trying to implement, people loved playing the game and I was just amazed by the response that I got on Twitter.

I am still working on it and really having fun adding new features and playing it with random people on the internet and will keep adding new features.